Skip to content
Ember & InsertNumbers, not brochures

Head to head · updated for the 2026 heating season

Dimplex vs Modern Flames

Both sell linear fireboxes for a wall you are building. One is the only brand here that can exceed a household circuit; the other is the only one that fits a stud wall without furring it out.

By Scooter M.Published October 23, 2026Last reviewed October 23, 2026

A spacious living room with a cushioned sofa, a wooden coffee table and a television mounted on a wooden wall beside a fireplace

Disclosure: the buy links below are affiliate links. We earn a commission on Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you. It has never changed a ranking on this site, and every roundup here names a unit we think you should skip. How this site is funded.

Buy Modern Flames if your fireplace is going into a standard 2x4 stud wall and you are not running a new circuit — the Spectrum Slimline 60 is 3 7/8 inches deep, which is the only unit in this comparison that fits a 3 1/2-inch stud bay without furring the wall out. Buy Dimplex if a 240-volt circuit is part of the project, because the IgniteXL is the only firebox here that can exceed a household circuit at 2,500 watts and 8,530 BTU, or if warranty is your deciding factor: Dimplex publishes five years with in-home service and no registration condition, where Modern Flames' five years requires you to register the product and otherwise drops to two. On a standard 120-volt supply both brands produce roughly the same 5,000 BTU, so this is not a decision about heat.

These two brands overlap in one product class

Both of these are builder's brands rather than big-box ones, and both are bought by somebody who is framing an opening rather than hanging a bracket. That is why this comparison is worth making and why most Dimplex-versus-anything comparisons are not: unlike our Dimplex vs Touchstone matchup, where the two brands mostly do not compete, Dimplex and Modern Flames are selling the same thing to the same person.

The shape of each range differs, though. Dimplex organizes its lineup by how the flame is made — Revillusion for a mirror-free traditional firebox, IgniteXL and Prism for linear built-ins, Opti-Myst for water vapor. Modern Flames organizes by format and look, with Spectrum Slimline as the minimal glass-and-ember option and Landscape Pro as the log-set option. Which Dimplex to buy and which Modern Flames to buy go through each lineup on its own terms.

The two numbers that decide it

Everything else in this comparison is a preference. These two are constraints, and they point in opposite directions.

The collision zone, on the specifications each maker actually publishes.
DimplexModern Flames
Shallowest unit hereIgniteXL 50 at 5 7/8 inSpectrum Slimline 60 at 3 7/8 in
Can exceed 1,500 W?Yes - IgniteXL on 240 V: 2,500 W, 8,530 BTUNo - 5,000 BTU on 120 V
Heat on a standard circuit5,118 BTU (IgniteXL); 4,197 BTU (Prism)5,000 BTU across both ranges
Published warranty5 years on IgniteXL, parts and in-home service; 2 years on Prism5 years if registered, 2 if not; integrated screen 1 year
Who publishes the warrantyDimplex itself for the IgniteXL termRetailers - the maker's warranty page is a claim form with no period
Widest available50 in in this comparison96 in in the Landscape Pro Slim range
Trim included?Not stated in what we verifiedYes, included with the unit
Flame and heat independent?Not stated in what we verifiedYes - stated, with variable heat
"Not stated in what we verified" means we could not confirm it from a document, not that the feature is absent.

What the extra money does not buy

Heat, on an ordinary circuit. This is the single most useful thing to understand before spending premium money in this category, and it applies to both brands equally. A 15-amp, 120-volt branch circuit delivers at most 1,500 watts, which is about 5,118 BTU per hour. The $110 insert in a console cutout and the $2,800 Dimplex in a feature wall arrive at the same number.

What a 1,500 watt electric fireplace costs to run at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour
UsageHoursHeat on (1,500 W)Flame only (~100 W)
One evening4$1.10$0.07
A week of evenings28$7.70$0.51
A month, 4 hrs a night120$33.01$2.20
A 90-day winter, 4 hrs a night360$99.04$6.60
Per hour127.5¢1.8¢
Either brand on a standard 120 V circuit Computed as (watts ÷ 1000) × rate, at 18.34¢/kWh — the US residential average from EIA Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026), released 2026-08-26. Your rate is on your own bill — put it into the calculator. The flame-only column assumes a conservative 100 W for the LED assembly with the heater switched off.
What a 2,500 watt electric fireplace costs to run at 18.34 cents per kilowatt-hour
UsageHoursHeat on (2,500 W)Flame only (~100 W)
One evening4$1.83$0.07
A week of evenings28$12.84$0.51
A month, 4 hrs a night120$55.02$2.20
A 90-day winter, 4 hrs a night360$165.06$6.60
Per hour145.9¢1.8¢
A Dimplex IgniteXL on a 240 V circuit Computed as (watts ÷ 1000) × rate, at 18.34¢/kWh — the US residential average from EIA Electric Power Monthly, Table 5.3 (June 2026), released 2026-08-26. Your rate is on your own bill — put it into the calculator. The flame-only column assumes a conservative 100 W for the LED assembly with the heater switched off.

The second table is the only place in this comparison where the brands genuinely diverge on warmth, and note what it costs: more heat means proportionally more money per hour, because an electric heater converts essentially all its input to heat either way. Running a 240-volt IgniteXL is not cheaper per BTU, it is simply capable of more BTU. What an electric fireplace costs to run sets this out in full, and the running cost calculator will do it against your own tariff.

What the money does buy is real, and worth naming so this does not read as cynicism: flame quality, finish quality, shallow bodies that fit real walls, trim that matches, independent flame and heat operation, and warranties measured in years rather than months. Those are the right reasons to spend here. Warmth is not one of them.

How we judged

  1. Published depth, because on a built-in it is the specification that decides whether the project is a day or a week.
  2. Published wattage and BTU, with our own arithmetic shown where a maker gives one and not the other.
  3. Warranty length and - unusually important here - who publishes it. A manufacturer document beats a retailer summary.
  4. Whether flame and heat operate independently, since a feature-wall fire runs on far more evenings than it heats.
  5. A live, buyable listing with a real photograph. Nothing featured here was out of stock when we checked.

Quick picks: the collision zone, both directions

Ranked. The running cost column is computed from each unit's rated wattage, not quoted from a manufacturer. Tap a row for the full write-up.

#ProductBest forCost per hourPrice
1
Modern Flames Spectrum Slimline 60 (SPS-60B)
Modern Flames Spectrum Slimline 60 (SPS-60B)Three and seven-eighths inches deep - the only unit here that fits a stud bay without furring the wall out. Hybrid-FX flame, variable heat and flame independent of each other.
A standard 2x4 stud wall, with no new circuit27.5¢1,500 W · 5,118 BTU
2
Dimplex IgniteXL 50" Linear Fireplace (XLF50)
Dimplex IgniteXL 50" Linear Fireplace (XLF50)The only unit in this comparison that can exceed a household circuit: 8,530 BTU on 240 volts against 5,118 on 120. Five years of warranty with in-home service, no registration required.
A project where a 240-volt circuit is on the table27.5¢1,500 W · 5,118 BTU
3
Modern Flames Landscape Pro Slim 56 (LPS-5614)
Modern Flames Landscape Pro Slim 56 (LPS-5614)Modern Flames' upper range: a hand-painted log set, a 15-inch viewing height and widths to 96 inches. Slide-in or wall-mounted, trim in the box.
A wide opening and a traditional log look27.5¢1,500 W · 5,118 BTU
4
Dimplex Prism 50" Linear Fireplace (BLF5051)
Dimplex Prism 50" Linear Fireplace (BLF5051)Dimplex's entry built-in at roughly a third of the IgniteXL's price - and 1,230 watts, which is genuinely less heat than anything else here.
Dimplex looks on a smaller budget, with less heat22.6¢1,230 W · 4,197 BTU

#ad Buy links are affiliate links — we earn a commission on Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you, and it never changes the ranking. How this site is funded. Running cost is computed at 18.34¢/kWh; see what these actually cost to run.

The four, side by side

Manufacturer figures where published, retailer figures for the Prism dimensions and term.
UnitSize (W x H x D)WattsBTUWarranty
Modern Flames Spectrum Slimline 6059 3/4 x 17 x 3 7/8 in, 95 lbNot published; 5,000 BTU rated5,0005 years registered / 2 if not
Dimplex IgniteXL 5051.5 x 16.5 x 5 7/8 in, 73.96 lb1,500 at 120 V / 2,500 at 240 V5,118 / 8,5305 years, parts and in-home service
Modern Flames Landscape Pro Slim 5615 in viewing height; depth not publishedNot published; 5,000 BTU rated5,0005 years registered / 2 if not
Dimplex Prism 5050 x 19 1/2 x 7 in, 75 lb1,2304,1972 years
Modern Flames publishes a BTU rating without a wattage for these models; Dimplex publishes both. Neither omission is unusual in this category.

The full write-ups

Modern Flames Spectrum Slimline 60 (SPS-60B)

#1 · A standard 2x4 stud wall, with no new circuit

Modern Flames Spectrum Slimline 60 (SPS-60B)

Three and seven-eighths inches deep - the only unit here that fits a stud bay without furring the wall out. Hybrid-FX flame, variable heat and flame independent of each other.

This is the pick for the most common version of this project, and the reason is a single dimension. Modern Flames publishes the Spectrum Slimline 60 at 59 3/4 inches wide, 17 inches high and 3 7/8 inches deep, at 95 pounds. A standard interior stud wall gives you about 3 1/2 inches of cavity. Nothing else in this comparison comes close to that, and every inch over 3 1/2 means furring the wall out, losing floor space and adding a day to the job.

The flame is Modern Flames' own Hybrid-FX system — high-intensity LED with an active ember bed — and the heat and the flame operate independently, with the heat variable rather than switched between two fixed stages. For a feature wall that is on most evenings and warm on few of them, independent operation is the specification that matters most, and it is published rather than implied.

Modern Flames also includes the trim with the unit rather than selling it separately, which on a built-in is real money and one fewer part to match. The unit can be wall-mounted or built in.

The honest costs. Modern Flames publishes 5,000 BTU per hour, which is a 120-volt unit like almost everything on this site — there is no way to get more heat out of it, and at the common 20 BTU per square foot rule of thumb that is roughly 250 square feet of supplemental warmth. The warranty is the bigger caveat: five years only if you register the product, two if you do not, and that term comes from retailers because Modern Flames' own warranty page publishes a claim form and no period at all.

What it does not do: At 3.875 in this is the shallowest unit Modern Flames makes and the only one in the range that will clear a 2x4 stud bay, which is the practical reason to choose it over a Landscape Pro — but the brand publishes no rough opening, no wattage, no amperage and no coverage figure for it. It is also the entry price into the brand, which means the Hybrid-FX flame without the Landscape Pro's driftwood log set. Stock has been intermittent.

Published specs

Dimensions:
59.75 in W x 17 in H x 3.875 in D
Weight:
95 lb
Heat output:
5,000 BTU/hr
Heater:
Integrated, and Modern Flames states heat and flame operate independently of each other
Flame:
Hybrid-FX with high-intensity LED lighting and an active ember bed
Installation:
Wall mount or built-in, minimal trim for maximum viewing area

What it costs to run

  • 27.5¢/hr on full heat
  • $99.04 across a 90-day winter at 4 hrs a night
  • 5,118 BTU/hr · 12.5 A on a 120 V circuit

Computed at 18.34¢/kWh (EIA, June 2026). Your rate will differ — work out your own.

$1,799.00 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission on this link at no cost to you. How this is funded. Price as of October 23, 2026.

Specs from: Amazon listing (Modern Flames) — Spectrum Slimline 60 (SPS-60B): 59.75 x 3.875 x 17 in, 95 lb, 5,000 BTU/hr integrated heater, variable heat and flame operate independently, Hybrid-FX flame technology with active ember bed, wall mount or built-in.

Dimplex IgniteXL 50" Linear Fireplace (XLF50)

#2 · A project where a 240-volt circuit is on the table

Dimplex IgniteXL 50" Linear Fireplace (XLF50)

The only unit in this comparison that can exceed a household circuit: 8,530 BTU on 240 volts against 5,118 on 120. Five years of warranty with in-home service, no registration required.

Dimplex's argument in this matchup is that it does not accept the 1,500-watt ceiling everything else on this site runs into. The IgniteXL 50 is published as dual-voltage: 1,500 watts and 5,118 BTU on an ordinary 120-volt supply, or 2,500 watts and 8,530 BTU on 240 volts. That is two-thirds more heat, and it is the only route to it in this comparison.

The second argument is the warranty, and it is the strongest in the category: five years covering parts and in-home service, published by Dimplex itself with no registration condition attached. On a firebox going into finished joinery, a technician coming to the wall rather than a part arriving in the post is most of the real value of a warranty — extraction is the expensive part of any built-in failure. We rank the whole category on this basis on how long do electric fireplaces last?

Physically it is 51.5 by 16.5 by 5 7/8 inches at 73.96 pounds. The 5 7/8-inch depth is the trade against the Modern Flames above: it will not go into a 3 1/2-inch stud bay as it stands.

The honest costs, and the first one undoes much of the headline. If you are not running a 240-volt circuit — and most people reading this are not — the dual-voltage advantage is worth precisely nothing, and the unit produces the same 5,118 BTU per hour as a $110 insert. It is also the most expensive unit here. And the 5 7/8-inch depth means furring out a stud wall, which is the job the Modern Flames avoids entirely.

What it does not do: The 8,530 BTU figure needs a 240 V hardwired supply — an electrician, a dedicated circuit and usually a permit. On an ordinary 120 V outlet it delivers the same 5,118 BTU as everything else. At 5 7/8 in it also will not fit a 2x4 wall.

Published specs

Dimensions:
51 1/2 in W x 16 1/2 in H x 5 7/8 in D
Weight:
73.96 lb
Electrical:
120 V or 240 V — 1,500 W or 2,500 W
Heat output:
5,118 BTU/hr at 120 V; 8,530 BTU/hr at 240 V
Coverage:
Rated by the manufacturer for up to 1,000 sq ft
Framing:
Built to fit flush into 2x6 framing
Heater:
Comfort$aver ceramic, modulating fan speed and wattage
Warranty:
5 years, parts and in-home service
Sizes in the line:
50, 60, 74 and 100 in

What it costs to run

  • 27.5¢/hr on full heat
  • $99.04 across a 90-day winter at 4 hrs a night
  • 5,118 BTU/hr · 12.5 A on a 120 V circuit

Computed at 18.34¢/kWh (EIA, June 2026). Your rate will differ — work out your own.

$2,824.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission on this link at no cost to you. How this is funded. Price as of October 23, 2026.

Specs from: Dimplex IgniteXL XLF50 product page — full published specification; Dimplex — five-year IgniteXL warranty covering parts and in-home service.

Modern Flames Landscape Pro Slim 56 (LPS-5614)

#3 · A wide opening and a traditional log look

Modern Flames Landscape Pro Slim 56 (LPS-5614)

Modern Flames' upper range: a hand-painted log set, a 15-inch viewing height and widths to 96 inches. Slide-in or wall-mounted, trim in the box.

Where the Spectrum Slimline is the minimal, glass-and-ember look, the Landscape Pro Slim is the range for people who want a recognizable fire in a linear format. Modern Flames publishes it in 44, 56, 68, 80 and 96-inch widths with a hand-painted Canyon Driftwood log set and a 15-inch-high viewing area, installable either slide-in or wall-mounted.

The width range is the real differentiator against Dimplex in this matchup. A 96-inch linear firebox has no equivalent in the IgniteXL or Prism ranges, and for a long feature wall in a large room the proportion matters more than any specification — a 50-inch fire in a 16-foot wall reads as an appliance rather than as architecture. 72-inch electric fireplaces covers the wide end of the category generally.

Trim is included here as well, and the slide-in installation option means the unit can go into a framed opening without a separate surround purchase.

The honest costs. It is the second most expensive unit on this page and Modern Flames publishes 5,000 BTU — the same 120-volt reality as everything else, so the money buys the log set, the viewing height and the width options rather than warmth. Modern Flames does not publish a depth for the range on the page we verified, which on a built-in is the specification you most need before framing. And the registration-dependent warranty applies here too, with any integrated screen covered for one year rather than the full term.

What it does not do: Modern Flames publishes the BTU figure but not the wattage, voltage, amperage or coverage in square feet on the pages we can read — the specification sheets are PDFs behind the product page. We list 1,500 W because 5,000 BTU/hr is what a 1,500 W heater produces and because the whole category is capped there, but Modern Flames does not print the number, so treat it as arithmetic rather than a quoted figure. At 160 lb this is a framed-opening job, not a bracket, and the price buys flame quality and finish rather than heat.

Published specs

Dimensions:
56 in W x 23.75 in H x 5.5 in D
Weight:
160 lb
Heat output:
5,000 BTU/hr, variable
Heater type:
PTC ceramic — not the coil wire and blower used across most of the category
Flame:
Hybrid-FX, with the back flame and the ember bed controlled independently or together
Viewing:
Full flame viewing area, 15 in high
Installation:
Slide-in or wall mounted, clean-face finish with a trim kit included
Media:
Hand-painted Canyon Driftwood log set

What it costs to run

  • 27.5¢/hr on full heat
  • $99.04 across a 90-day winter at 4 hrs a night
  • 5,118 BTU/hr · 12.5 A on a 120 V circuit

Computed at 18.34¢/kWh (EIA, June 2026). Your rate will differ — work out your own.

$2,499.00 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission on this link at no cost to you. How this is funded. Price as of October 23, 2026.

Specs from: Modern Flames Landscape Pro Slim series page — sizes 44, 56, 68, 80 and 96 in, 5,000 BTU heater, hand-painted Canyon Driftwood log set, 15 in high viewing area, simple slide-in or wall mounted; Amazon listing (Modern Flames) — Landscape Pro Slim 56 (LPS-5614): 23.75 x 56 x 5.5 in, 160 lb, 5,000 BTU variable PTC ceramic heater, Hybrid-FX flame with back flame and ember bed controlled independently, finish trim kit included.

Dimplex Prism 50" Linear Fireplace (BLF5051)

#4 · Dimplex looks on a smaller budget, with less heat

Dimplex Prism 50" Linear Fireplace (BLF5051)

Dimplex's entry built-in at roughly a third of the IgniteXL's price - and 1,230 watts, which is genuinely less heat than anything else here.

The Prism is how most people actually buy into Dimplex, and it is worth understanding what the lower price changes. Dimplex's own sell sheet publishes 120 volts, 1,230 watts, 4,197 BTU and 10.5 amps. That is not a 1,500-watt unit detuned by marketing — it is a smaller heater, producing about 18% less heat than the Modern Flames units and 51% less than an IgniteXL on 240 volts.

What you get for the money is the Dimplex flame in a built-in format at a price that competes with mainstream wall-mounts rather than with premium built-ins. Retailer figures give it as 50 by 19 1/2 by 7 inches at 75 pounds, rated for 400 square feet, with a two-year warranty — double Touchstone's term, well short of the IgniteXL's five.

For a feature wall where the fire is decorative and the room is heated by something else, the heat reduction costs you nothing you were using. That is the case for it, and for an ambience buyer it is a good one.

The honest costs. Seven inches deep is the deepest unit in this comparison and rules out a stud wall decisively. The retailer's 400-square-foot rating does not follow from 4,197 BTU — at 20 BTU per square foot that is closer to 210 square feet. The two-year term is retailer-published rather than Dimplex-published, unlike the IgniteXL's five. And at 10.5 amps it is still most of a 15-amp circuit, so none of the wiring gets easier for the lower wattage.

What it does not do: 1,230 W and 4,197 BTU/hr put it roughly 18% below the 1,500 W class ceiling — genuinely less heat than most units at this width. At 7 in deep it is also the thickest linear unit in our catalog, and it is the older Prism series rather than the current IgniteXL.

Published specs

Dimensions:
50 in W x 19 1/2 in H x 7 in D
Weight:
75 lb
Electrical:
120 V, 1,230 W, 10.5 A
Heat output:
4,197 BTU/hr
Coverage:
Rated by the manufacturer for up to 400 sq ft
Fuel bed:
Acrylic ice embers
Mounting:
Fully recessed, partially recessed or surface mount
Warranty:
2 years

What it costs to run

  • 22.6¢/hr on full heat
  • $81.21 across a 90-day winter at 4 hrs a night
  • 4,197 BTU/hr · 10.3 A on a 120 V circuit

Computed at 18.34¢/kWh (EIA, June 2026). Your rate will differ — work out your own.

$1,059.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission on this link at no cost to you. How this is funded. Price as of October 23, 2026.

Specs from: Dimplex Prism series (BLF5051) sell sheet; Retailer listing — dimensions, weight, 120 V / 1,230 W / 4,197 BTU, 2-year warranty.

The warranty asymmetry is the real finding

On paper both brands top out at five years, and that reads as a tie. It is not one, and the difference is worth more than any specification on this page.

Dimplex publishes its five-year IgniteXL warranty itself, covering parts and in-home service, with no condition to satisfy. Modern Flames' five years is conditional on registering the product, drops to two if you do not, excludes an integrated screen after one year, applies only to units bought from an authorized dealer on or after 1 September 2021, and is nontransferable. And every one of those terms comes from retailers, because Modern Flames' own warranty page is a claim form that states no period at all.

None of that means Modern Flames will not honor five years. It means that if you buy one, you should register it the day it arrives, keep the invoice, and understand that the term you are relying on is not something the manufacturer publishes. That is a real difference in buyer risk on an appliance you are building into a wall.

Choosing in one minute

  • Retrofitting into an existing 2x4 stud wall, no rewiring. Modern Flames Spectrum Slimline 60. The 3 7/8-inch depth is the only one here that nearly fits as-is.
  • New build or a wall you are framing anyway, with a 240-volt circuit available. Dimplex IgniteXL 50. It is the only unit here that can produce more than 5,118 BTU per hour.
  • A long wall in a big room where proportion matters. Modern Flames Landscape Pro Slim, which runs to 96 inches.
  • A decorative fire in a room heated by something else, on a budget. Dimplex Prism 50, accepting 4,197 BTU and a deeper wall.
  • Warranty is the deciding factor and you do not want conditions. Dimplex IgniteXL, published by the manufacturer with in-home service included.

If neither brand is obviously right, the honest answer may be that you are over-buying. A Touchstone Sideline at a fifth of these prices produces the same heat and publishes a better clearance table than either of these brands does; the Touchstone Sideline 50 review is the comparison worth reading before you commit premium money, and which brand of electric fireplace is best? places all of them against each other.

Questions people actually ask

Is Dimplex better than Modern Flames?

Neither is better overall; they win on different constraints. Dimplex's IgniteXL is the only firebox here that can exceed a household circuit, at 2,500 watts and 8,530 BTU on 240 volts, and it carries an unconditional five-year warranty with in-home service. Modern Flames' Spectrum Slimline is 3 7/8 inches deep, the only unit in this comparison that nearly fits a standard stud bay. Your wall and your circuit decide it.

Which brand gives more heat?

On a standard 120-volt circuit, neither — both land around 5,000 BTU per hour, because the circuit caps them at 1,500 watts rather than the product doing so. If a 240-volt circuit is part of the project, Dimplex wins decisively: the IgniteXL publishes 2,500 watts and 8,530 BTU in that configuration, and Modern Flames offers no equivalent.

Do I need to register a Modern Flames fireplace?

If you want the full term, yes. As published by retailers, the warranty is five years from purchase when the owner registers the product at modernflames.com, and the standard two-year warranty applies if it is not registered. That is the largest single return on paperwork in this category. Note that Modern Flames' own warranty page publishes a claim form rather than these terms.

Which is shallower, Dimplex or Modern Flames?

Modern Flames, and by enough to change the job. The Spectrum Slimline 60 is 3 7/8 inches deep against 5 7/8 for the Dimplex IgniteXL 50 and 7 inches for the Prism 50. A standard 2x4 stud wall gives about 3 1/2 inches of cavity, so only the Modern Flames is in reach without furring the wall out.

Is a premium built-in worth it over a $500 wall-mount?

Not for heat — a 120-volt circuit caps every unit at the same 1,500 watts, so a Touchstone Sideline produces what a Dimplex IgniteXL produces on a standard supply. It is worth it for flame quality, finish, shallow bodies that fit real walls, included trim, independent flame and heat, and warranties measured in years. If none of those matter to your project, you are over-buying.

Can either brand be installed in a media wall with a TV above it?

Both are built-in fireboxes intended for exactly that kind of carpentry, but neither publishes a clearance from the top of the unit to a television in anything we could verify. Touchstone is the only brand this site covers that publishes that figure, at 8 inches. If you are framing a TV niche, get the clearance from your chosen manufacturer in writing first — can you put a TV above an electric fireplace? explains why it matters.

Sources

Every figure on this page is either taken from one of these documents or computed from a formula shown on the page. Nothing here is recalled from memory.

Read next